This set of SAFER Guides can also be found on the HealthIT.gov website which includes further description and documentation. The SAFER Guides consist of nine guides organized into three broad groups. They are provided here on the HITEQ Center knowledgebase as well for easy access to Health Centers. These guides enable healthcare organizations to address EHR safety in a variety of areas. Most organizations will want to start with the Foundational Guides, and proceed from there to address their areas of greatest interest or concern. The guides identify recommended practices to optimize the safety and safe use of EHRs. The interactive PDF versions of the guides can be downloaded and completed locally for self-assessment of an organization’s degree of conformance to the Recommended Practices. The downloaded guides can be filled out, saved, and transmitted between team members.

SAFER-1 High Priority Practices

SAFER-1 High Priority Practices

A Resource Developed by the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology

The High Priority Practices SAFER Guide identifies “high risk” and “high priority” recommended safety practices intended to optimize the safety and safe use of EHRs. It broadly addresses the EHR safety concerns discussed in greater detail in the other eight SAFER Guides.

Assembling a multi-disciplinary safety team is recommended to complete this guide, as a team will be best equipped to identify which EHR-related safety practices should be addressed first and which of the other SAFER Guides to turn to next.

Previous Article SAFER-2 Organizational Responsibilities

Documents to download

Theme picker


This resource collection was created by Joan Ash, Hardeep Singh, and Dean Sittig for the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC).

Search HITEQ Content
Need Assistance?
Would you like more assistance regarding EHR Selection & Implementation strategies or support in using any of the included resource sets?

  Request Support


Upcoming Events
The Quadruple Aim
Quadruple Aim

A Conceptual Framework

Improving the U.S. health care system requires four aims: improving the experience of care, improving the health of populations, reducing per capita costs and improving care team well-being. HITEQ Center resources seek to provide content and direction aligned with the goals of the Quadruple Aim

Learn More >