Search HITEQ Resources
Broadband Access Exclusions
HITEQ Center

Broadband Access Exclusions

EHR Incentive Programs in 2015 through 2017

In October 2015, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) published a final rule that specifies criteria that eligible professionals (EPs), eligible hospitals, and critical access hospitals (CAHs) must meet in order to participate in the Medicare and Medicaid Electronic Health Record (EHR) Incentive Programs. The final rule’s provisions apply from 2015 through 2017, as well as in Stage 3 of the EHR Incentive Programs in 2018 and beyond.

There are two objectives in the final rule for EHR Incentive Programs in 2015 through 2017 that require providers to have broadband access; Objective 8 – Patient Electronic Access and Objective 9 (EPs only) – Secure Messaging. CMS offers exclusions and hardship exceptions for providers who face barriers in meeting meaningful use objectives that require broadband access and Internet connectivity for their locations and patients.

Previous Article Guide for Eligible Professionals Practicing in Multiple Locations
Next Article EHR Incentive Programs in 2015 through 2017

Documents to download

Please login or register to post comments.