Search All HITEQ Content
Patient-Centered Medical Home Recognition (PCMH)

Patient-Centered Medical Home Recognition (PCMH)

2017 Standards


The redesigned PCMH 2017 requirements focus on assessing a practice’s transformation into a medical home and specify goals for improvement. There is a new recognition requirement structure: concepts, competencies, and criteria.

  • Concepts are the foundation on which a practice builds a medical home.
  • Competencies organize the criteria in each concept area.
  • Criteria are the individual structures, functions, and activities that indicate a practice is operating as a medical home.

The levels of recognition, points, and must-pass elements have been eliminated. To achieve recognition under PCMH 2017, health centers must 1) meet all core criteria and 2) earn 25 credits in elective criteria across 5 of 6 concepts. This ensures a minimum set of capabilities and gives practices the flexibility to focus on activities that not only mean the most to their patient population, but are feasible to accomplish with existing resources and the resources of the community.

Read all about it in this issue brief from NCQA, or read the preview of the 2017 changes on their site here.

Previous Article Limited Waiver of HIPAA Sanctions and Penalties During Declared Emergency
Next Article Webinar: 42 CFR Part 2 Consent Requirements: Creating Electronic Consents
Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker